Sex And The City (DVD) Review


Based on the bestselling novel by Candace Bushnell, the HBO original series Sex And The City took the television world by storm following its release in the summer of 1998. Following the exploits of four young and educated female friends living and working in New York City, the show revolves around the various relationships and life problems experienced by each member of the group. Sporting an experienced and talented cast, the show has developed a strong, borderline fanatic following…

Sarah Jessica Parker (the de facto lead character of the show) stars as Carrie Bradshaw, a popular sex columnist for a local newspaper who travels in numerous Manhattan social circles. Carrie is engaged in a tempestuous on-again, off-again relationship with a mystery man always referred to as “Mr. Big”. The young urban professional shares her life with three best friends who have similarly interesting jobs – Miranda Hobbs (Cynthia Nixon), a lawyer tired of being single given the societal ramifications; Samantha Jones (Kim Cattrall), a promiscuous publicist who enjoys non-exclusive relationships; and Charlotte McDougal (Kristin Davis), an art museum curator who is relatively less open about her sexuality… Together, the women seek each other’s advice on the ever-present and varying predicaments in which they find their romantic relationships…

The Sex And The City DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the series premiere in which the four stars make a pact at Miranda’s birthday party that they will start having sex like men (i.e. without feeling or attachment). Charlotte is skeptical of the idea, but Carrie takes to the idea immediately by sleeping with her ex-boyfriend. Meanwhile, Miranda goes out with Carrie’s friend Skipper while Samantha and Carrie develop new relationships of their own… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “Bay of Married Pigs” in which Carrie is set up by her married friends with a man intent on getting married himself (meanwhile, all four women feel the societal pressures to get married), and “The Monogamists” in which each of the four women deals with personal issues involving exclusive/non-exclusive relationships of varying degrees…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sex And The City (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Sex and the City) Air Date: 06-06-1998
Episode 2 (Models and Mortals) Air Date: 06-06-1998
Episode 3 (Bay of Married Pigs) Air Date: 06-21-1998
Episode 4 (Valley of the Twenty-Something Guys) Air Date: 06-28-1998
Episode 5 (The Power of Female Sex) Air Date: 07-05-1998
Episode 6 (Secret Sex) Air Date: 07-12-1998
Episode 7 (The Monogamists) Air Date: 07-19-1998
Episode 8 (Three’s a Crowd) Air Date: 07-26-1998
Episode 9 (The Turtle and The Hare) Air Date: 08-02-1998
Episode 10 (The Baby Shower) Air Date: 08-09-1998
Episode 11 (The Drought) Air Date: 08-16-1998
Episode 12 (Oh Come, All Ye Faithful) Air Date: 08-23-1998

Date: April 24, 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *